The first day of the rest of my life?

Before we get into the whys of this blog, running history or physical issues, I wanted to get an initial run on the cards.

Today I did an initial two mile road run in my neighbourhood.

I was concentrating in a few things:
1) Breathing. I read an article in Runner’s World (in April so I hope it wasn’t a hoax) about changing your breathing so that you vary which foot you strike with on the exhale. I’m starting with three steps during the inhale and two for the exhale.
2) Lifting feet backwards quickly. Minimising the amount of time my feet are on the ground by pushing them back and up as quickly as possible. Based on advice from training videos.
3) Shifting to a mid-foot strike rather than a heel-strike. I can plod along for many miles (18+) with heel strike but it is slower, less agile, and feels very different to my track work running, so I’m going to try and change it.

I’ve not blogged before so I’m going to end the entry here for today and hope to learn more of the functional tricks to creating a blog as I go along.

Today’s run stats: 2 miles, pace: 8.11.

Stay Happy.
~~PaulB

6 thoughts on “The first day of the rest of my life?

  1. maaxiim

    Sounds like a lot to have to keep in mind as you run, but it’ll be interesting to hear about how it affects your (already insane!) range and pace 🙂

    Reply
  2. Chris Adams

    One style I’ve heard about is to run like you’re skating. (ie don’t try and stride forward so much, but then push back further) Supposedly, it’s good at combating shin splints.

    Reply
    1. pauldburton Post author

      Skating, really? Hmm, will have to investigate. Images of speed skaters pushing side to side with their feet are scooting around in my mind, and I am not sure how that component translates to running. Small steps forward and pushing backwards does sound like what I am doing though.

      Reply
      1. Chris Adams

        Yeah. Maybe cross-country skiing would be a better analogy. It’s a long push back motion, rather than side-to-side. Sounds like you’ve got the idea though.

Leave a Reply

