Track Blast 5K

I wanted to see how I was progressing with my speed work because the last few slow runs have been a little disappointing.

So rather than doing an interval run I chose to do a track blast. Basically trying to run a 5k at race pace/conditions.

I managed to run four laps straight at a consistent 7:00-7:10 range, then sped up a little for the next five laps at 6:55-7:00 pace. At this point I had to take a half lap walk as I was shot and had no power left in the tank. After that brief respite I powered through the last three and a half laps at 7:07, 6:47 and 6:16 pace.

I ran a total of 3.25 miles (slightly over 5k) in 23:19. Not too shabby. I clearly need to do some more work on how long I can go at that pace which was more a mental battle than anything else.

I held good form throughout but forgot my heart monitor strap so I have no stats on that.

At least I feel a little better about my overall pace now which will spur me on for the next week of running.

Leave a Reply

