Trials of Ice: Trails of Ice

Another cold LSD run today. 12 miles at an 8:45 pace which is not bad considering 6.5 miles were on snow and ice where trails had not been cleared. I ran through the Lower Providence Valley Park which is part of the Perkiomen Trail, and the Schuylkill River Trail between Oaks and Phoenixville Reynolds Dog park. The biggest problem with this route is that the last 2.5 miles home are all uphill. They are a drag at that point in the run!

I had four ‘oh shit’ moments while I was out there where the snow beneath my feet became icy. It is also hard to maintain running form (mid foot strike) when you are running in snow or putting your feet onto ice.

I’m also finding that I’m pretty tired after running 26 miles in three days. I hope that gets easier as I progress through the marathon training.

One of the houses along the route had a massive fire last night. At least three fire trucks were headed there. I hope all were okay.

Leave a Reply

