Starting to Taper

With my plan to run two half marathons on Boxing Day I need to start to taper down my distances. Today I did a quick 8.3 miles with a reasonable pace of 7:59. I would have liked it faster but it was 21F and the roads were icy, plus I lost time on one piece of trail that had been ploughed across the entrance, had no melt or clearance on the actual trail, and the exit was also ploughed over. It’s nice when they do that, isn’t it?

I’m now starving and the increased amount of food from holiday parties doesn’t seem to be helping me to contain my appetite. We won a box of wine at a Polly-Anna party at the weekend and that is also going down well. A couple of glasses each night is a luxury we don’t normally have. Ah well, ’tis the season and all that…

2 thoughts on “Starting to Taper

Leave a Reply

