Finally Getting My Arse Out the Door: Getting Back into Morning Runs

I did it! The first time this year that I got up early and out the door for my run.

It was hard to do as two and a half weeks of holidays, half-marathon taper/recovery and laying-in just make it difficult to even get out of bed. But within half a mile of starting I was happy. Cold, but happy.

It was 22F when I left which is much warmer than the past few days but is still cold relative to normal temps. I completely overdressed for the weather though it is easy to unwrap layers.

Unfortunately my GPS was entirely off today. I don’t even think it timed the run correctly. It said I was out for 35:29 and did 7.75 miles. That would be a pace of around 4:34! Err, no. I don’t think so. I actually did around six miles and I think the timing was off too as it should have been close to 43 minutes.

The plan called for a marathon paced sandwich of six miles with four at race pace, and I have no idea if I was near that in any way. It felt about right so that will have to do for today’s tracking.

Now to go and get showered and warm.

Hurrah for mornings!

Leave a Reply

