Travel Running: Sticking to Marathon Plan While Away

This week I have a conference in Philadelphia to attend but I still have to stick to the marathon training plan.

So what better way to start the first day of the conference than with a five mile run from the hotel up and over the Ben Franklin Bridge. It was exactly 2.49 mile from leaving the hotel to touching my feet on the ground in New Jersey which was absolutely perfect! I ran an extra block on the way home for good measure. 5.16 miles @8:04 pace according to Nike+.

It was a beautiful morning with a slight chill in the air and a light breeze up on the bridge. The footpath is elevated above the road and rail ways so the air is quite clear for breathing and there’s no danger from traffic. The views as you go toward NJ are pretty as dawn rises and then coming back to the lights of Philly as it awakens; lovely. I didn’t stop for pictures as it would have ruined the vibe curfuffling with my phone holder.

I saw a group of Drexel students (30) out running as I was coming back over. Not one of them acknowledged my ‘hellos’; miserable buggers. They were mainly all plugged into iPlods. Good to see them out as I’d never have done that at their age. Building good habits, etc.

Feeling good now and ready to tackle the conference. Major snow is expected today and through tonight so Thursday’s tempo run won’t be as easy.

2 thoughts on “Travel Running: Sticking to Marathon Plan While Away

  1. WalkToRio

    Fitting the workout plan with all the traveling work brings it’s a challenging.
    I’ve been living out of a suitcase for the last month, jumping from hotel to hotel, it can be frustrating, but the change of scenery it’s motivating too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

