Okay, Enough of the Cold Already!

Back at home today in the wilds of suburbia and it is cold. Bits of me froze today. -4F/-20C. My thumbs got too cold as I left the house so I had to pull them into the main section of my glove and my neck gaiter froze solid with my breath on it. Even my knees developed a frosty envelope on my leggings.

20140124-065014.jpgI’ve not been watching the weather forecasts so don’t know how long this will last but it makes it very hard to do the appropriate workouts. Running fast for tempo runs with multiple layers on your legs and ice on the ground is really difficult.

Not too bad given the above with 5.99 miles @ 7:49 avg pace. The graph shows that I did actually get up to pace on a few occasions for which I am very glad because it was a hard effort.

20140124-070224.jpgOverall I’m pretty happy with that. It’s not as dialled in as these running plans seem to imply but it is close enough.

Here a selfie to illustrate the cold and my squiffy glasses.

20140124-070532.jpgNot very flattering, I know, but who looks good at the end of a hard, cold run? If you do then you probably didn’t run hard enough. 😉

4 thoughts on “Okay, Enough of the Cold Already!

  1. WalkToRio

    Today was cold and very humid in here, very foggy too. But nothing compared to what you had to endure. I wasn’t even wearing gloves, no need to.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

