Fourteen Mile LSD: Training Starts to get Challenging

Close to zero F again today but with fourteen miles to run. I’m certainly consistent in my pace for these runs as I came in at 2:01:44 for 14.11 miles which is a pace of 8:37. Not too bad. Still am faster than the marathon training plan suggests although very consistent with my previous times.

The roads were messy out there today but easier than running trails that haven’t been cleared. Fortunately there is very little traffic early on a Sunday morning in the wilds if Evansburg PA. Part of my run was through the State park which was beautiful with the light snow covering.

One of my goals for today was to start practicing refueling while running. The distances have now reached a point where I need to take on fuel during the run. So I ate most of a Clif snack bar and three Clif shot blocks. The last two blocks were a life saver as they gave me a real kick to get to the end.

Every time I took a drink of my water the nipple had frozen over. This made me smile and was refreshing!

I have a new top-tip for you: When planning a route don’t believe road names like ‘Level Road’ because it was anything but level! I’m guessing about a mile and a half of climbing. Not entertaining.

Glad this week is over. I believe week four in the plan is supposed to be an easy week but because I have some imminent travel to Singapore I am going to swap weeks and do another high one next week and then the easy one while I’m travelling. Doing sixteen miles in 95F heat after a twenty-two hour flight doesn’t seem like a very sensible idea to me! Remember plans are guidelines so you mustn’t get too hung up on them. You can juggle things to fit with the demands that life puts on you.

2 thoughts on “Fourteen Mile LSD: Training Starts to get Challenging

    1. pauldburton Post author

      And that’s just the start if the problems. I’m travelling to a conference which will entail early mornings and loooooong nights entertaining, so I’ll have to watch my beers too.

      I’ve actually booked my flights around my running schedule, so I won’t have to do any crazy in-terminus runs to keep to the plan.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

