Singapore Heat: Running Around the Marina Bay

After 27.5 hours of travelling I arrived in Singapore for my four day conference. I grabbed four hours of sleep and then my body decided it was time to get up.

By 9am it was already hot and humid out there.

20140209-111514.jpgA sweaty 82F which is about 70F hotter than my run on Friday AM near Philly.

The company have put me up at the famous Sands Marina Bay Hotel that has fabulous views out across the bay which my phone camera doesn’t do justice too.

20140209-111727.jpgI was supposed to run 6 miles today but I just ran out of Omph after 4.5 miles and needed to get some cool air. I should have gone out when it was cooler but after all the travel I had to catch some Zzzs. I’ll make up the miles with an additional small run on Monday AM before it gets too warm (not that it ever really gets cold here).

The run was around the bay gardens then over the Flood barrier. This meant I had to come back over two other very high road bridges. Singapore is very kind and provides pathways across the bridges but they don’t connect to anything at ground level. You have to sort of guess the way you need to head to find the next bridge entrance. I had this issue last time I was here too. Generally I knew the lay of the land from my last visit here in November.

I also ran in my new Brooks Adreneline GTS shoes. These were a pair that were recommended by my running shop as they are less corrective than the Beasts I had been running in before. They are supremely comfortable and I love the styling: very aggressive looks.

20140209-112259.jpgTime to get showered as I am shivering from the AC in this place. Brrr. In fact, I’m just going to sit on the balcony and warm up a little before I do that! Now I have to erase the effects of such a long journey.

I’m looking forward to the conference and to starting week six of the marathon training plan. I hope I acclimate before the speed workout on Thursday. Then I’ll be back in Philly for the three miler on Friday and the eighteen miler on Sunday. Those numbers are starting to sound daunting but I know better than to attach any significance to them. I’m pretty sure I can do that distance at this point. Even though today’s four and half made me look like this:

20140209-114140.jpgWell, the travel had something to do with it too. Time to get shaved!

3 thoughts on “Singapore Heat: Running Around the Marina Bay

Leave a Reply

