My Legs Still Work Just Fine: Marathon Recovery

Today I thought I’d take my legs for a little spin to see if they are okay after the marathon I ran on Sunday. Recovery runs always seem like such a good idea to me.

Everything seems fine. I ran a quick 2.65 miles with a pace of 7:30. No aches. No pains. I had one sore spot on my lower back where my water belt rubbed up under my (slightly too) short shirt, and ever so slight chafing. I haven’t taken any meds or painkillers. No blisters either. No stiffness and stairs haven’t been an issue.

I have found myself drinking a lot more liquids over the last few days as I try to replenish my body. I’ve been constantly filling the water bottle on my desk and taking extra (decaf) coffee throughout the day. The additional food has been helping too; a donut here, a slice of cake there. Yum.

I have a track meeting tomorrow night so we’ll see how that goes after such a long run. I expect I’ll conk out a little earlier than previously, but it will be interesting to see.

I expected the toll to be higher on my body. I’m relieved that it hasn’t been, but surprised.

3 thoughts on “My Legs Still Work Just Fine: Marathon Recovery

    1. pauldburton Post author

      Perhaps not. Btw, I cannot comment on any of your posts. Not sure if it is a setting or if I’m blocked. There’s no comment option displayed in the iPhone app for you but it is there for all others I follow. Ta.

      Reply
      1. 2 Cups 'N Run

        The comment option doesn’t show on the WordPress reader because I’m not hosted on WordPress.com. I wish they would allow for the comment box anyway. I think the only way to comment is through the original post.

Leave a Reply

