Be Vewe, Vewe Quiet. I Am Hunting Wabbits!

This mornings run (Friday) was a fun one. I decided just to do a short three miler because my iPhone somehow managed not to recharge last night. It was sitting showing me a 1% battery charge when I came down this morning despite having the cable plugged into it. I reinserted it and it stated charging fine, but this isn’t the first time that has happened.

So, I decided that I would still run, but dug out my old Polar watch with the heart rate monitor so that I could time my run. After reconfiguring the heart rate monitor (as I had lent it to a friend the other week to try out; he loved it) I hit the roads at a brisk pace. This was helped by the fact that as I turned out of my road there was another runner about 400 yards ahead of me running on the wrong side of the road. A rabbit. My quarry. Muwahahaha.

I picked up my pace and was soon moving faster to track him down. Now it isn’t really fair to call it a race when the other person doesn’t know that they are being hunted down, but I enjoyed it anyway. I ensured that I took the outside line on all the curves as I was clearly catching up quite quickly. Then we rounded into a nearby housing development and I was hot on his heels. I was pretty sure that he could hear me by this point as I was making quite a noise with my breathing. I overtook him at about the 3/4 mile mark and stormed onwards. I heard him cross the road behind me and pick up the pace. It seems that I was now the rabbit.

Unfortunately for him this was just at the bottom of a nice hill. One that I am very used to running up and so took at full pace. By the time I crested the hill I could no longer hear him behind. I didn’t cast any looks back.

After this the rest of the run was relatively uneventful. I turned around at the 1.5 mile marker and eased up my pace a little. I completed the three miles in 24 minutes which isn’t an especially fast time so the second half must have been quite relaxed.

One other thing that I learned from this is that the heart rate calcs that these watches use must think that I am an old, slow bugger. It put my optimal HR range at 115-152. That’s bonkers. Way too low for my sort of workouts. 150 would be the lowest I would get to on a long slow run. Ah, well, I guess it is a good thing that I am fitter than the device assumes for my age. šŸ™‚

Overall this week I’ve done 33+ miles and that’s not too shabby. It was a tough week at work and baby Louie had been having a hungry (read early waking) week, however, I feel that I have at least achieved some good in my running. A good mixture of run types: LSD, mid distance, track work, hill work, and short fast run. Surprisingly varied for me.

What will the next week bring? Well, I have to wind down and have an easy week in preparation for the Runner’s World Heartbreak Hill half-marathon next Sunday. I was reading through the event calendar tonight and it looks like a lot of fun.

Leave a Reply

