Runner’s World Heartbreak Hill Half-Marathon: Report

Ouch. That’s a good summary.

It was a very difficult run. There were a few hills and mostly they are at the end if the race, plus the sun was out. It reached 78F while I was out on the course and I had chosen to run without my water belt; big mistake.

I ended up walking through some aid stations to maximise the amount if water I could consume and targeted the shady spaces of the course. When it came to heartbreak hill near the end I couldn’t get all the way up without walking. My legs were spent. Whether this was from the heat or too small a breakfast, I’m not sure. Perhaps half a bagel two hours before the start wasn’t enough.

I had to take a potty break part way round the course because of the amount of extra water I was consuming. This lost me some time as I had to wait for two people ahead of me.

I also made the silly mistake of running the first half too fast. I started with the 2:20 pace group and fought my way through the pack until I hit the 1:50 pace group. Then I realized I must be going too fast because I was a good few minutes behind them at the start of the race.

Ah, well. You live and you learn.

20140608-134706-49626073.jpgThese are the stats from my app. Not too bad.

20140608-134737-49657314.jpgMy splits show that I was too fast out of the gate. The course has a fair amount of downhill in the first part and that’s why this happens.

20140608-134825-49705481.jpgHere’s the profile of the race track. I did have to walk in a few places which is most unlike me and they can be seen on this graph.

20140608-134912-49752262.jpgIn the end though the only thing that matters are the official results.

20140608-134940-49780886.jpg37th in my age group and in the first four hundred finishers. I can live with that but I am pissed that I didn’t bring my water belt. I really should have done but wanted to try using the aid stations.

20140608-135144-49904962.jpgHere’s a picture of the prize. Guiness and chips with curry sauce. Now to shower and scrub away the salt.

11 thoughts on “Runner’s World Heartbreak Hill Half-Marathon: Report

  1. 2 Cups 'N Run

    You did great, congratulations! Looks like a very tough course. It’s easy to get carried away at the beginning of a race and go out too fast, you’ll be able to pace yourself better next time.

    Reply
    1. pauldburton Post author

      I’ve not done many full events but from what I saw it was well run, with good facilities and support. Everyone organising it has a strong interest in running and I think that shines through. If you like hills and want to run the hard part of the Boston marathon without all that hassle of qualifying, then this is the run to do. 🙂

      Reply
      1. runrodrun

        Do you remember what the entry fee was? Did they have a shuttle bus that ran from downtown Boston to the start? There’s nothing posted on their website as they’ve wiped all the info for this year’s race and obviously haven’t set up for next year’s quite yet. REALLY interested in doing this race. Thanks for the race report! I’d never have known about this event if it weren’t for you!

      2. pauldburton Post author

        It was 104$ including fees. The race was from Boston college so we just took the first (6:09) T subway/tram to the start line. $2.50 per person each way.

Leave a Reply

