Tour d’Omlette

This will be the third weekend in a row where I have traded in my long run for a bike ride.

This week it was to ride with the Egg-Salted Yolks on my bike team for our annual Tour d’Omlette in which we ride from the ‘burbs of Philly to the Famous 4th Street Deli for the largest meals you could ever possibly imagine, and then ride back home, somewhat slower.

This is the one ride of the year where the majority of the team get together, including some that rarely make it out for the weekly rides. It is also a time for egg-based puns galore. 🙂

It is the only ride where you will go out on your bike for sixty miles and come back weighing about the same as when you left!

I hadn’t ridden more than 26 miles this year so pulling a 60 miler out of the bag was a bit if a challenge but we took it at a reasonable pace. It was great to catch up with old friends whom I haven’t seen this year because I swapped out my weekly ride for a long slow Sunday run.

The main difference between long runs and a long bike ride for me is that I have never let out an involuntary whoop while running. That does tend to happen once I am zooming down the trail on my bike. I’ve missed this feeling. I’ve missed my friends. Now I have a quandary; to continue my solo Sunday runs or get back with the bike team.

Leave a Reply

