Get On Yer Bike!

It is that time of year again when I have to cut back on my running and start to actually ride my bike. At the end of September each year I ride the MS society city to shore ride that is 150-200 miles depending on your route. And riding that distance over two days requires some preparation. Most years I would have ridden close to 2000 miles by this point but this year it is closer to 150… That’s what you get when you switch to focusing on your running.

So, today I headed out and did an 82 mile exploration ride to find the West end of the Schuylkill River Trail. I didn’t realise quite how long it was heading out that way as it is broken into sections that aren’t joined together. However I did get to the end and take a picture where it turned into a single gravel path that sort of faded away.

The temperature and humidity was high and I believe it officially was ‘hotter than balls’ as it made it up to 96F (qualifying range 92-94F). Also, I got rained on for the last 1.5 miles which was lovely!

I think that running has definitely helped me with my riding as my legs were very strong. The only issue is that I have to get my butt used to being on the saddle against these sort of distances that really matters. The only solution is time in the saddle and that’s what I’m going to have to put in.

I will try to do a few runs too but the focus has to shift a little.

Leave a Reply

