Who is the Caped Crusader?

That is not a line I thought I’d ever find myself typing but sure enough, I just did.

And why you might ask? Well, I was out doing a last ride before my long weekend charity event, head down, fighting the wind and a hill, when out of the corner of my eye I spied the most bizarre sight on two wheels.

Some freakily dressed person was taking the “make sure you’re seen” theme a bit too far and was riding a bright yellow bike, with an all-over red superhero outfit (complete with muscle inserts), a long trailing yellow cape, what looked like antlers, and a bright flashing headlight!

Wow, that makes my disco show seem like nothing!

Twenty one hilly miles completed. And a new land speed record for me of 44.5 mph. Now, car drivers, when I’m going that fast in a 35mph zone I do not expect to be overtaken. Give a man a break. Sheesh.

Time to pretty myself up as my wife and I are taking my parents out to dinner tonight.

IMG_0710.jpg

7 thoughts on “Who is the Caped Crusader?

  1. tide

    who is that freak? pretty narrow minded, don’t you think? I would have expected a more open attitude from someone who appears to do more unconventional things than the average Joe. Anyway that character was Radioactive Man from the Simpsons. And the cycle was a Pinarello Dogma 60.1.
    Maybe be more open , when you see someone having fun in life. Try it sometime.

    Reply
    1. pauldburton Post author

      Awesome. So very glad to make your virtual acquaintance! I have to say it was an increible sight to see the whole outfit zooming along the road. Well done, sir!

      Reply
      1. tide

        apologies respectfully accepted. I did not think you would hold that opinion based on your outrageous training habits. Perhaps our cycling paths may cross sometime as I usually start at Oaks and travel to Doylestown & back wearing either Flash, Superman, Spiderman, Batman, Wolverine, Captain America, Radioactiveman or Ironman. I may be on a red, yellow or white cycle. Honestly , I cycle mostly in secret – this is the most I’ve ever written about my identity. I’m not even sure why I have written so much so far. You know, Superheros do not devolve their identity.

      2. pauldburton Post author

        Hehehe, with that much superhero gear you should have an underground lair replete with turn-table. How do you keep you cape clear of the wheels/chainring?

  2. Pingback: You Did What to Hurt Your Knee? | Unlearn What You Have Learned

Leave a Reply

