Time to Get Back to Running!

Now the bike riding is done and my legs have had a chance to recover, it is time to get back out running.

On Wednesday I went for a six mile walk with a friend who is having tremendous success with his weight loss programme. He has already lost twenty pounds more than I weigh and is so much happier and healthier than before!

As ever, life does occasionally throw a curve ball at you and this week was no exception. On Monday I lost my job along with a few of my friends, so now my occupation is finding new work for me and for my team. We had a BBQ at my house today to give everyone a chance to talk as we didn’t get to do that on the day we were terminated. We had a lot of laughs together and I think that it was a very cathartic experience for all.

After having spent a few days sorting out my desk and office, and collecting the contact info for the team, I now need to start focusing on my résumé. Fortunately I am pretty good at networking with people (unlike a lot of techies) and I have been using this to get word out for myself and the group.

I am looking forward to being able to run more over the coming weeks as I move through this process; hopefully quickly. Daytime runs might be a nice change. Time with my two children will also be good. Getting my brain to turn off sufficiently to let me get out the door will be a challenge though.

Three months left to go for the year and I am at 793.9 miles so far. I should easily make my 1000 mile goal, especially now.

2 thoughts on “Time to Get Back to Running!

  1. WalkToRio

    I don’t think saying I’m sorry you lost your job would be appropriate because you seem to have everything under control.
    Hope you have a nice weekend.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

