Take your Breath Away

I did a quick run this morning to try and get my legs moving after a 48 mile bike ride on Sunday.

Today it was very warm. 65F and humid at 6am. Very odd. I had expected it to be in the forties. As I am just trying to get my legs rolling again (recovery) I ran 4.5 miles with a few hills. My pace was a little slow at 8:09 but my legs felt like lead when I started out.

Runner’s World republished the article about uneven breathing to their Facebook feed over the weekend so it reminded me to try that out again. I only think it reduces your risk of injury by about ten percent on normal pace runs (2:2 breathing = 50% breathing out; 3:2 breathing = 40% for breathing out, therefore a reduction of time breathing out of 10%). But I guess that might help some people. I’m not terribly convinced and I have covered it in a previous post so I won’t repeat myself here.

One thought on “Take your Breath Away

  1. WalkToRio

    When you read “2:2 breathing = 50% breathing out; 3:2 breathing = 40% for breathing out” it makes sound breathing really hard. Me, being a little OCD, I think I’d stop breathing and died there. Just when I try to count my steps. It doesn’t work, I start walking funnier.
    Have a nice week.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

