Clear Your Mind

Running is many things to many people. For me I use it as a drug to cure whatever my ails may be on that particular morning.

Today is going to be an important day in my job hunting as I have a lot going on; meeting a resume and career advisor, webinar on negotiation, a call for the charity I work for, a phone screen for a job, and then an actual interview in Philly. It is going to be crazy.

And so, today, my run was for my mind. To give it a chance to think about putting one foot in front of the other. To allow it to count my breaths; in-2-3-out-2-in-2-3-out-2. To allow the stresses that have built up in anticipation to evaporate and leave space in my head for the important things I need for the interviews.

Yes, today’s run was much needed and I had perfect autumnal conditions. 48F, dry and with a smattering of leaves on the ground. I started out thinking I’d just do three miles but even before the half mile mark I knew I needed more, so I headed off up the hill on another road and made it a 4.7 miler. My pace wasn’t great at 7:56 but I did choose a hilly route. My first few half mile intervals were significantly slower than the others.

Not to worry though as I achieved what I had wanted to: some space inside my little head.

Have a good weekend everyone. When you are out doing what you do, take some time to let your mind wander too.

DSCN0193.JPGMy mind wasn’t quite as clear as theirs, however. Works from the Corning Glass Museum.

Leave a Reply

