So. Many. Hills.

I had a little more time available to me today so I headed out on a nine mile run and decided I’d keep it hilly… You know, just for laughs.

Part way through I was wishing that I hadn’t made that decision while climbing another long slog of a hill.

The temperature was perfect today at 49F and I ran in a single shirt and shorts which was enjoyable. I didn’t take any water with me and I ended up regretting this as I was running up (another) long hill directly into the sun; that definitely makes it a lot harder.

MapMyRun says it was only 545ft of climbing over then length of the run but the profile shows that there was very little flat level running.

IMG_4049.PNG

At some points on the run I was also worried that cars wouldn’t see me as they drove into the sun and I was in their path. They mostly moved in good time but one or two made me flinch a little. I was wearing bright yellow so I should still have stood out against the side of the road.

My shoes reached their half-life today as I received a friendly reminder from mapmyrun.

Tomorrow is yet another round of interviews with a very cool local company. I’m looking forward to it but will meet a lot of the engineering team which is rather daunting. Fingers crossed for a good outcome. They have a lunchtime running group which sounds like fun.

9.1 miles at 7:45 avg pace with all those hills. I’ll take it!

Leave a Reply

