My Legs Still Work. Hurrah!

Finally I got out for a ‘recovery’ run four days after the marathon I ran on Friday, and I found that my legs still work. It’s a miracle!

I started out thinking I’d just do 3 miles but felt good at the turn around and opted to continue. At the two mile mark I was also feeling strong and chose to go further.

At the two and a half mark my right leg got a pang of aching; not really a pain as much as feeling abnormally tired and heavy, so I ducked off down a side street to start the return run up over Arcola hill and through the school.

This return route had some good hills which are useful as I’m thinking of doing a New Year’s Day hill run with the FastTracks running club. This has a very steep hill which is over 20% in places and is a good half mile climb straight up.

As I was coming into the last 3/4 mile I turned on the power and got my pace down to the 6:23/7:01 range. A pretty fast finish and I was out of breath. The cold air (32F) wasn’t helping much.

All in all a good run but not my last of 2014. Tomorrow I’ll be doing a run/walk with my friend and that should finish off my efforts for this calendar year. What a lot of fun it has been.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/5e7/55986753/files/2014/12/img_4128.pngGood Stats for a recovery run.

Leave a Reply

