Chilly Start to the New Year

After a recovery day yesterday brought about by dehydration (and all the complications that accompany that; I’ll spare the details), I finally got out for a run this morning.

It was 28F and a brisk wind was blowing, so ski underwear and a neck-warmer (gaiter) were added to the wardrobe. Just a quick 6.5 miler today with a pace of 7:44 by the end.

Pace is an odd thing. When I started out I felt light, bouncy and fast, but come that one mile update from mapmyrun I found that I was running a moderate 8:10 pace. Weird. Once I had warmed up I pushed my pace a little but it was certainly not consistent through the run. I’ll put it down to my being off colour yesterday.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/5e7/55986753/files/2015/01/img_4140.pngI will update my marathon recovery list to add continued rehydration throughout the week following the marathon.

I’m not one for setting goals for the year as resolutions so don’t look to find any here. I may come up with something later but I prefer continuous improvement rather than an annual societal ritual.

Leave a Reply

