A Little Drizzle Won’t Hurt You

Today we were fortunate enough to have slightly warmer weather (mid-40s) and with that came a light drizzly rain.

“Into every life a little rain must come.”

This should not deter anyone from running. I recommend wearing a running cap (baseball cap stylee) to keep the rain out of your eyes or off your glasses. If you have a light waterproof layer then wear this too. You shouldn’t need many layers underneath as just one underarmour cold weather top should be more than enough.

I didn’t go fast today as I was soaking in (pun intended) the scenery and, really, I’m still in marathon recovery mode.

I chose a trail that I knew wouldn’t flood and let my wife know I was going somewhere different to usual.

11 miles at 8:13 pace will do but I want to get some speed up again later this week. I believe the temps are about to plummet into the teens this week so that’ll be something to look forward to.

As part of my recovery I’m sitting back writing this and enjoying a Gatorade Strawberry Lemonade flavour drink. Something new to try… Yum! You never know what you’ll stumble upon at Walgreen’s. That and the reduced price Christmas chocolate; the minty stuff is now less than half the cost of regular chocolate brands. Go and eat some!

I noticed today that the latest version of mapmyrun has changed the categorisation of the completed runs to more inspirational items; also, not sponsored by Brooks anymore.

Leave a Reply

