Running Tourism: Extended Tour of Wokingham

As the storm hits the East coast of the U.S., it has also impacted me in England. BA cancelled my flight home yesterday because of the storm so I had an extra day with my parents and an additional chance to stuff a curry down my neck!

One of my friends suggested an extension to my last local running route in Wokingham which I thought I wouldn’t be able to remember… Turns out somewhere inside the dark catacombs of my brain it did get stored away.

However, it did take me through areas I didn’t know before and I had to consult a map twice to find the narrow country roads that got me back to familiar territory.

The park in Woosehill was pretty muddy in places but it made a change to be running through some woodland. Then some of the narrow lanes I vaguely remembered from my childhood (Ludgrove) and exploring on my bike, but it is the faintest of memories.

Here’s the route: all 9.45 miles of it. Rotated for best fit on my phone screen.

2015/01/img_4232.pngWhile out there I stumbled upon this wonderful old hospital building that is enormous but is right in the middle of nowhere.

2015/01/img_4231.jpgWhen talking about the route with my father he said that it went past his golf club and the lake that my brother used to fish (now a nature reserve). I have vague memories of that lake…

9.45 miles in 1 hour 15 gives a pace of 7:56. Not my fastest but my legs felt like lead.

Anyway, I’m back home to get cleaned up and to pack for home, assuming they don’t cancel the flight again. I expect I’ll have to dig my car out when I get there!

5 thoughts on “Running Tourism: Extended Tour of Wokingham

  1. WalkToRio

    Hope you were able to fly, although I watched the news and they said flights were still canceled to NYC and Boston.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

