Get Out and Run

Since my failed/abandoned run on Sunday due to the cold, I hadn’t been out until today. It was still cold (9F with a realfeel of 3F) but I just had to get out.

Sunday and Monday were write-offs due to cold. Tuesday was my son’s birthday. Wednesday was the only slightly warm day and my wife needed to get out for a run in preparation for the Disney Princess Half this weekend (tiaras and tutus; hilarious as she isn’t the Disney princess type at all).

So, today I went out despite having a sore throat and rasping cough. I swear I feel better since getting out there and running. Just getting the blood pumping really seems to help sometimes; just get out and run!

In other news I have officially accepted the job I was offered. The company is just three miles from my home and is a really interesting opportunity for me. They are in investment management and are also good to their staff; great art, gym, on a trail, open plan, flat-structure. All good stuff. I’m looking forward to starting there in late March after another trip to the UK for the British Computer Society, and a family holiday sometime in the next couple of weeks.

It is a huge weight off my shoulders to get a job lined up. I didn’t expect to find something so close to home and we were basically preparing to have to move as I’d applied locally and across the U.S. (TX, WA, OH and IL).

Good stuff.

4 thoughts on “Get Out and Run

    1. pauldburton Post author

      I feel a little like that at the moment. My wife has a half marathon in Florida this weekend and I am more than a little jealous. Just having a chance to take the frost off my fingers would be lovely!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

