The Air that we Breathe

It was cold again this morning and cold air is hard to run with.

Wearing something like a balaclava or neck gaiter that allows you to breathe through the material will definately help, but only to a point. The cold air shouldn’t hurt you but some people find it tough to run and breathe easily in super cold weather like we have been experiencing lately.

Today it was an actual temp (rather than feels like) of 2F. Bloody chilly with no wind factor. I had “eyecicles” hanging from my lashes and they froze together at one point.

IMG_4328I look like a member of the special forces in this get up. There’s even frost across my forehead and ears.

Dress appropriately and you shouldn’t have an issue but it takes practice to get the number of layers right and to not be too warm after a few miles.

4.75 miles at a pace of 8:01. The mounds of snow at junctions really slow you down. That’s my excuses and I’m sticking to it. 🙂

12 thoughts on “The Air that we Breathe

  1. runrodrun

    Stay warm my friend!

    I keep hoping that the tougher footing is making me stronger so that when the ground is clear of snow and ice I’ll be that much faster.

    How long until you see better temperatures?

    Reply
      1. runrodrun

        On clear pavement they are loud — like a tap dancer– and it feels a little different but nothing I would really call unwieldy. I do get the feeling that they do slow me down ever so slightly. So not unwieldy but something feels slightly restricted in my stride.

        If the terrain is largely snow or ice covered though, I highly recommend them.

        The spikes are light and easy to install and remove. Depending on your distances you may need to check the spikes and replace them every 6 weeks or so.

    1. pauldburton Post author

      I don’t use spikes. They worry me about how they’d work on non-icy surfaces. If it is icy I target roads or trails that I know have been cleared and then start alert the whole way through a run. Watch out for snow patches as they can have ice underneath. Also, I can now run short distances on ice by varying the weight distribution on my feet and using a more flat-footed step when needed.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

