Time to Get Back into the Swing of Things

Yet another a-ha lyric, I’m afraid, but today marks the last weekday of my unemployment break. As such, it is time to get back into the swing of early morning runs before work starts next week. I went out for dinner and drinks with my new team last night and they  seem like a great bunch.

This morning I was still slightly late out the door (6:45) although it is better than what I had been doing while unemployed. Most of the time I was taking runs after eight or even mid-morning. 

My new office is only three miles from home so I am hoping to run, walk and ride there most days. I need to work out how to get clothes to & from the office and if I can store them safely. I’m looking forward to getting this setup next week. I know that they have an onsite gym and shower so that will be a big improvement over the strip washes with baby-wipes at my last job! 

Time to go and shower so that I can get out for breakfast. 

Just a basic four miler with a gentle hill today. 7:46 pace is quite reasonable considering I feel like a big bloated lump at the moment. I’m carrying about eight pounds of winter weight at the moment and am looking forward to losing that too!

3 thoughts on “Time to Get Back into the Swing of Things

  1. Chris Adams

    I bought a set off paniers and rear rack to go on mine which work well for transporting normal clothes. (much nicer than having a rucksack on) Waterproofing is tricky though. Scotchgard has helped, but I still tend to have everything inside a waterproof inner bag, just in case. Not sure how it could cope with transporting particularly creasable items like shirts though.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

