Enough, Already

Today I bailed on my run. There, I said it. After a late start and the temps creeping up from 36F to the mid-fifties, I started out but my heart wasn’t in it. 

Perhaps it was latent dehydration from a Friday night out in the city to see Marc Maron (an excellent comedy show) and the inevitable rounds of cocktails that followed, the lateness of the start, or the suddenly warm temperatures that I haven’t had a chance to adjust to, but after 2.5 miles I decided to turn around rather than keep trucking along. 

I’ll probably feel better for it tomorrow but I feel that I cheated a little today. Oh, well. 5.5 miles at 7:55 pace. 

This afternoon is my daughter’s first scheduled run of the season; five weeks of Healthy Kids Running Seties. I’m looking forward to seeing how she’s improved compared to the others. 

This will be her third year in the pre-k group as she was so little the first year we put her in. She has a couple of friends running with her today so it will be interesting to see how she does. Keeping her focused on the race is the main issue; she gets distracted by bugs/flowers/kids/dogs (delete as applicable).  

Giving it some ‘Sass’ warming up for her run last season. 

5 thoughts on “Enough, Already

  1. runrodrun

    Great pic! How did her run go? And don’t sweat your run too much. We’ve all been there πŸ˜€

    Oh! And sorry that I keep following and unfollowing you!!! The former is deliberate, the latter is not. I don’t know why it keeps happening 😞

    Reply
    1. pauldburton Post author

      She ran well. Was in third until she got distracted looking back for her friends and then loads of people stormed past her. Par for the course. I’ve shown her a video of what she did but am not going to make a big deal of it. She’s four and I just want her to enjoy taking part; no pressure.

      Reply
  2. zackshier

    Hi Paul, I have enjoyed following you blog. I love hearing about a fellow runners journeys! I have nominated you for Versatile Blogger Award, check out the detail in my most recent blog post. Pass it on! Keep up the good work.

    Reply
    1. pauldburton Post author

      Thanks for the nomination, Zack. I will however pass as I view these things as the blog equivalent of a chain letter, but thanks for the consideration. πŸ™‚

      Reply

Leave a Reply

