Abandon Hope All Ye Who Run in the Heat

Is that a little dramatic? Perhaps just a little. 

I tried to run today after a late night the evening before, waiting until after lunch and in 80F heat… I just could not do it. 

My legs would not turn over. After ten minutes I had to switch to walking. Then tried again only to find myself walking a few minutes later. I tried a third time and then had to stop and sit on a bench to recover while several others jogged happily by. 

After about ten minutes I made the tough decision to abandon the run and start to walk back. I did get to see a very cool and large snake basking in a log in the river. 

 You may not be able to tell from the picture but he was about four or five feet long and very fat. 
I ran a couple of short sections on the way back and then drive to get a cold drink and recharge. 

I feel like I failed but sometimes you have to stop yourself if it is not going well. I’ll try again tomorrow… 

Meanwhile, I know some people (friends of friends) who are running their first fifty milers today. Good luck to them. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Abandon Hope All Ye Who Run in the Heat

    1. pauldburton Post author

      Yes. We’ll have to admit that we are cold weather runners and that remember that next winter when we complain about the chills! 😉

      Reply
  1. WalkToRio

    I was shocked I managed to pull half decent workouts last week when tempts reached 110.
    On Wednesday I had to do 10km medium, no idea how I finished, 98F and humid (by the river, felt like a sauna), I missed winter a lot.

    Reply
    1. pauldburton Post author

      It hasn’t got that hot here yet. My normal approach is to run in the early mornings but that isn’t always possible with a family schedule.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

