Getting Back Into It

After a week long vacation in Utah and only squeezing in a couple of runs, I need to start making up for my slacking off in preparation for the Rehobeth Beach marathon on December 5th. 

I see a lot of early mornings in my future…

Today I met my friend for our weekly 6.2 miler. At 5:30 it was pitch black and even with lights it is getting hard to differentiate the trail due to fallen leaves. LED lights give off an odd blueish light that doesn’t allow you to make out dirt vs leaves very well. 

Despite this we managed to run a new record. Partly due to reducing our ‘warm up’ walk down from five minutes to just two; at this time in the morning walking around isn’t enough and you need to run to warm up. It was 36F but dry. Our intervals are still at 4:00 run with 2:00 walking.

Outfit-wise, I went with ear warmers (first mile), long sleeves and gloves although I stuck with shorts for the day. 🙂 

The time at the finish was 1:01:22 for the 6.2 miles. At the 37 minute mark my friend asked me to predict when we’d complete and I said 1:01:25 so I wasn’t far off, was I?

My friend has continued in his weight loss and is now at the incredible weight of 181lbs which is a total loss of 229lbs since his journey began. That’s about the same weight I was when I came to America. 

To finish off, a photo from my recent trip. I hope they don’t start setting up porta-potties like this at races. ;-p

Taken at Hole in the Rock, just outside Moab, UT. 

 

Leave a Reply

