Early Xmas Present

In taper week the long run isn’t too long, so I only had to do a twelve miler on Sunday.

The temps were quite low (32F) but the morning was beautiful. I ran from home to save some time as we had family plans for the holidays. I headed out to Evansburg State Park and took a narrow unpaved trail through the woods. It was so nice out there. The trail ran along a ridge overlooking Skippack Creek as the sun was rising over the opposite bank. Halfway along it turned into a horse trail rather than a walking one; this means that the surface became far more furrowed and uneven, and had several water crossings. Some were so wide that I had to take a running jump to cross them and on one I ended up with damp feet, but that’s all part of the fun.

When the lady in my phone told me it was time to turn around, I decided to ignore her. I was having too much fun to retrace my steps and I thought I might be able to make the run into a loop rather than an out-and-back. Eventually the trail came to the other end of the park and I looped around some roads (narrow unused country roads) to head back toward home.

I ended up doing 13.5 miles which isn’t too far over the twelve required and it was nice to run a distance that wasn’t prescribed by a plan.

Last night I went to see the new Star Wars film. Wow. Nice work, J.J.Abrams. Very true to the original trilogy. This meant I had a late night before my early run with my friend so it was a struggle getting out of bed this morning at 4:45.

However, it was worth it. We decided that we would run our 5:2 intervals for the three miles out and then just run straight through for the return. Quite a challenge but I thought he’d be able to do this… And, of course, this resulted in us beating our previous route record by a couple of minutes; 58:38.

We broke the hour for the 6.2 mile route! Hurrah. 

Certainly a nice early Chrimbo present.

For the remainder of the week I am tapering down so I can run a marathon on Saturday (Boxing Day) as is my tradition.

Have a good week everyone.

5 thoughts on “Early Xmas Present

Leave a Reply

