Frozen Chips

Today when I set out for my morning run it was 4F actual with a feel of -10F. 

Pretty. Bloody. Cold. 

The last post had my list of winter running clothes but this kind of temperature deserves extra. So what did I change?

  1. swapped out socks to snowboarding socks. These are great because they grip your feet well and don’t slide down your calves as you run. 
  2. Swapped out running tights (lightweight) for winter weight versions. 
  3. Added a winter weigh cycling jersey. This may seem like an odd idea but there’s a great reason. Cycling jerseys have an extra long back with pockets. These essentially give you a couple of extra layers of warmth across your butt as well as helping to keep you much warmer. 

So how cold was it? I barely noticed the difference to be honest. However, when I took my phone out to snap a beautiful landscape at dawn… My phone froze within a couple of seconds, shut down and wouldn’t come back. I was 6.5 miles into my run when this happened and was about to head off into ‘unknown’ territory. 

Suffice to say I changed my plans and headed back to more familiar trails. 

I tried to restart the phone a little while later but the chips were still frozen. Oh well. 

Thankfully my Apple Watch kept going so I still got credited for the distance but all my gps apps died. Once home and in the warm my phone soon started up again. I just should not have taken it out in those cold temperatures. This has happened before with earlier models. 

My neck gator had icicles. My eyes had them, too, but it was good out there. 

There are very few cars out at six am on a Sunday and even fewer when the temps are sub-zero. 🙂 

<insert a picture here of my shadow illuminated by a golden rising sun that cast my shadow across a golden bush in front of a long valley filled with trees and power pylons; then titled “Man casts a long shadow across a beautiful landscape”. Deep man, and lost forever>

Have a great Valentine’s Day. 

3 thoughts on “Frozen Chips

  1. runrodrun

    Nice work Paul! While the recent cold snap is pretty much on par with the winters we’ve had the last couple of years, I feel spoiled by this winter’s warmer temperatures. To the point that I delayed my run until after lunch in order to have better conditions.

    I have been home for over an hour, had a long hot shower, and I am still cold in my bones!

    Reply
  2. usabaker

    Frozen phone, classic! In the military bullets suffer much the same , if they get too cold you tend to get allot of miss or hang fires so what you are trained to do is to place your mag’s and extra rounds inside your shirt next to your body. Perhaps this would work for the phone as well.

    COLD… gezzzz Don’t know how you do it. Does the tundra crackle beneath you feet?

    Reply
    1. pauldburton Post author

      If I put it inside my clothes if have to wrap it in a ziplock to stop it getting soaked with sweat, but it isn’t a bad idea. I could use a spi-belt to keep it in place. I may try that when the temps drop next…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

