Live Critter

After a weekend away in NYC with my wife and kids with no exercise on the agenda (other than walks around the city), it has been time to try and catch up those missing miles. 

On Monday I ran with my friend and saw my first ever live wild skunk! He just sort of wandered across the trail in front of us as nonchalant as that terrible stereotype/rapist Pepe Le Pew. He didn’t seem to care that we were there which was a good thing as he was probably only 10 feet away. 

It makes a nice change to see one alive rather than smelling them through the vents of my car as I pass roadkill. 

Tuesday I had a bad case of what I can only imagine is what depression feels like. Being a perennially cheery person to feel like I wanted to curl up and cry was rather an alien sensation. 

I’m not sure if it was due to a touch of illness or that I simply hadn’t been out running enough, but I felt very isolated and disconnected. 

My daughter was a champion though and came over and gave me some sweet hugs and let me have some space. I believe she is more emotionally tuned in at five than I am at forty five. 

The last two mornings I’ve been up early to get some runs in and feel a whole lot better now emotionally and physically. I’ve slept a lot and feel back in sync with the world. 

Today was a ten miler and I forgot to start my tracking app as I headed out the door. I only realised when I hit the halfway point. I’d been so engrossed in my podcasts (Infinite Monkey Cage and WTF! w/ Sacha Baron Cohen) that I hadn’t even noticed there were no distance announcements. 

I think I need to get another race/run on my calendar to give me a training target…

6 thoughts on “Live Critter

  1. usabaker

    Paul, I feel that way as well if I don’t run more then 3 days. I also get cranky and have noticed I’m less tolerant of people at work. Here is a personal bit of trivia; I love the smell of skunk, wasn’t always happen after I was covered in the stuff once.

    Reply
      1. usabaker

        Its kind of interesting, but other then running for yourself, they don’t seem to have a standing board so I not sure of the point. I tried it just out of curiosity and the medal look sort of cool ;P doubt I would do it again. Seems to be a money maker though. https://www.makeyeshappen.com

Leave a Reply

