Global Running Day, 2016. 

Did yo get out and run for global running day?

I’m not sure why I only heard about it once I got to work and not beforehand, but there you go. 

The Runner’s World website has some nice downloads featuring things like excuse notes for work and signs to hang on your door. They are also pushing ‘Out to Runch’ as their message for the day and encouraging us to get coworkers out running. 

Luckily, I managed to get out at 5:15 this morning for a quick 6.5 miler before the heat of the day arrived. 

As runs go it was entirely uneventful. Very little traffic. No animals. No rain. No aches. No pains. 

Just a simple out and back in the countryside near my home. 

Perhaps it is good to write about the uneventful runs as well as the others so that there’s a record of the fact that nothing fantastic, Earth-shattering or stupid happens each time a runner steps out of the door. 

You have to put in the miles to be a runner and that means that some days you just have to run and, perhaps, bask the fact that it’s all good. 🙂

Next week I have my company’s 5k so I’m trying to up my one and will also try running back a few evenings to adjust to the ridiculous temperatures that we will inevitably have on the evening of the run. 

There’s far more competition from my team at work this year as at least four more runners joined in the last year. Some of them look fast…

One thought on “Global Running Day, 2016. 

  1. Ed

    I got out this morning, and ran by a turtle. Might have been a snapper as his head could not retract all the way in the shell.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

