Lumo Run Unboxing

I arrived back in the US following my UK vacation to find the Lumo Run gadget waiting for me on the doorstep. 

Hurrah! I bought into this a longtime ago when they were looking for financing. 

Unfortunately, I was too excited by the fact that it had arrived to make an unboxing video so you’ll have to put up with my words and then use your imagination. šŸ˜‰ Plus I don’t pay WordPress for video, so that wouldn’t have worked out anyway. 

The box opens at the bottom and is held in place by a plastic sticker. When I removed this sticker and pulled the drawer, the contents of the box fell out over my desktop. Doh. Not too smooth and glad I didn’t video it. 


It contained a brief instruction pamphlet, a USB cable (ribbon-type), a clip and the Lumo run device. 

The device needed a quick charge using the provided USB cable and I then had to set it up with an app on my phone. 

The app setup was very easy and required setting up a free account with the service. 

The quality of the app is very high but I found the ‘talking’ feature was a little confused at the very start of the setup. It also sounds like the voice has an Aussie accent which was a pleasant surprise. 

Once the app is connected and the device charged, you need to insert the device into a clip (a bit of a fiddle) and hook it into the back of your shorts right where your spin and hips connect. The positioning is important to allow the device to collect the data accurately. 


Their positioning diagram looks like a naked bum. Teehee. 

Then you have to do a 10 minute run with the device for it to do the first analysis. Probably wearing shorts or leggings to reduce the likelihood of arrest. 

One observation I have about this is that it would probably have been better to recommend a warm up before starting the ten minute test. I’m a little stiff in those first few minutes of running and having that as a part of the data in the initial analysis seems a little odd. 

During the run (I did 26 mins) the app talks to you and updates you with the analysis progress. Once you finish the run you get access to far more information though. 

This is where the fun begins for a data-whore like me. šŸ™‚

The app performed some analysis of the run and then came back with a recommendation that I work on fixing my ‘bounce’. It believes that I bounce 3.7 inches and should aim for a smoother run below 3 inches of bounce. It recommended a training exercise to help address the specific issue (which I did).

The overall results summary screens are really good.  Like all fitness apps, it starts with the basics of miles and pace plus a map of your route. 

If you scroll down you get to see the recommended improvement or focus. 


Clicking through on the recommendation gives you an exercise demo video. 

Scrolling further brings up the ‘meat’ of the data collected by the device. Cadence. Bounce. Braking. Drop and Rotation. 


Each of these items allows you to click through for more info. For example, my cadence is shown at a good 181spm, but click through and see this:


It shows the spm for each mile and has some links to exercises to help you target improvements. 

The image at the top of the page is a video that illustrates the measurement and is a helpful reference point for a first time user. The overlaid animated white dots show the movement it is tracking. 

The same is true for all of the sections. 


The layouts are all clear and show how close you are to the targets and what areas you need to work in. 

Clearly in my case it is bounce and rotation. 

I look forward to using it more and will post future comments as I continue to use it. 

My initial observation is that although the device can be used without a phone connected (for all you tech-naked runners), you would not get the benefit of in-run coaching feedback. 

Also, it doesn’t look like it readily supports multi-user setups. I’d like my wife to use it and not have to reconfigure the whole device every time. 

Other than that I’m very impressed with the device thus far. 

Leave a Reply

